Over the weekend of the 4th and 5th of December, the Yallingup based Indian Ocean Longboard Club hosted its 37th annual Yallingup Malibu Classic at the iconic Yallingup main break to the delight of the large crowds of visitors and locals.

Club President Graeme Gibson said the two-day event, one of the longest running club-based longboard events in Australia, was one of the best organised and run events the Club has hosted in recent times, with near on 100 local and visiting longboard surfers converging on Yallingup to rip the waves that are so famous for challenging even the best surfers.

“We were blessed with excellent surf and weather to suit all competitors, from the ‘next generation’ juniors to some of this state’s most revered veterans in the O70 division. While the swell was relatively slow and at times a little windy, competitors stepped up in the lighter conditions to put on a magnificent display of technical skill, including head-dips, reo’s, nose-rides and airs, while taking every opportunity to personalise their rides with individual creative style” Graeme said.

“The Open Women winner was Georgia Young while the Open Men winner was Anthony Spencer who also won in the Open Logger division. The Open Junior division saw Kai Flynn the winner while at the other end of the spectrum, the O70 winner was Tony Harrison” Graeme said.

Other winners were: O40 Women – Samantha Vanderford, O40 Men and Open 8-Footer – Paul Burke, O50 Men – Adam Lane, O55 Men – Glenn Solomon, O60 Men – Barrie Mckinnon and O65 Men – Bob Monkman.

Graeme thanked each of the 25 strong sponsors group, headed up by joint major sponsors the City of Busselton (Events Capital WA) and Richard’s Tyrepower, and paid tribute to this year’s Aloha recipient Alfonso Puzzarini, who demonstrated the strongest level of engagement, fun, fellowship and enjoyment during the event.

The Greg Laurenson Triple Crown results were also announced, with the following winners crowned after the Geraldton Winter Classic, Whalebone Classic & Yallingup Malibu Classic:

Aged Divisions Women – Sam Vanderford
Aged Divisions Men – Paul Burke
Open Women – Georgia Young
Open Men – Ryan Clarke

The Indian Ocean Longboard Club acknowledges the Wadandi Noongar people as the original inhabitants and traditional custodians of the Yallingup land and ocean and pays its respects to their elders past, present and emerging.

Final scores and results can be found at liveheats.com

More info can be found at: www.facebook.com/indianoceanlongboardclub


Other News