Australian surf photography has continued to go from strength to strength in the past twelve months as evident in the epic submissions for the 2022 Surf Photo of The Year Award category. 

With a mix of icons and up-and-comers putting their best images forward for judging there was a great variety of land and water based frames for the judges to adjudicate on. 

As it is every year, the Surf Photo of The Year Award was hotly contested with the top ten images of an extremely high standard. For the tenth year running the submissions were judged by a panel of thirteen high-profile individuals within the surfing industry.

Chris Mater, CEO, Surfing Australia, said, “ Everyone always looks forward to seeing captivating high quality images as produced in the Surf Photo of The Year Award category each and every year, 2021 being no different. Congratulations to everyone that submitted their work and a special mention to the epic top ten images. Good luck on the night!”

The Australian Surfing Awards is proudly supported by the Queensland Government, through Tourism and Events Queensland, and features on the It’s Live! in Queensland events calendar.

2022 Australian Surf Photo of The Year Top Ten (In no particular order)

Andrew Peacock ‘Unridden Antarctica’

Trav Don Johnson ‘Molly in Flight’

Nathan Tyack ‘Clancy Dawson’

Ted Grambeau ‘ Maya Gaberia’

Adam Crane ‘Mikey Wright’ 

Peter Jovic ‘Slide Into The Gold’ 

Trav Don Johnson ‘In A Phone Booth’ 

Dan Hayward ‘ Super Medina’ 

Jack O’Grady ‘Jacob Willcox One Last Pump’ 

Ted Grambeau‘Nic Von Rupp’​​​​​​

World-renowned Surf Journalist Nick Carroll continues in the role of Curator of the Australian Surfing Awards incorporating the Hall of Fame.

The Australian Surfing Awards incorporating the Hall of Fame is proudly supported by Tourism and Events Queensland, QT Gold Coast,  Griffith University, Reeftip Drinks Co, Zambrero, ACCIONA,  Modus Operandi, Andrew Peace Wines and OnStone.


Other News