Trigg Point Boardriders Club have claimed a hard-fought victory on home soil, as the third event of the nudie Australian Boardriders Battle concluded in wet and windy conditions today at Trigg Beach.

Six of WA’s best boardriding clubs battled each other as well as the elements, as large swells and strong onshore winds battered the metropolitan coastline. The stormy 3-4 feet surf made the going tough and challenged even the best of WA’s surfing talent who were on show.

In the tightest finish in recent history, Trigg Point scraped ahead of Yallingup, Margaret River and Surf Beach in an enthralling 60-minute final. When the final siren sounded there was less than two points separating first, second and third.

In what turned out to be a battle of the power surfers, with results coming down to each club’s final surfer. Trigg Point’s combination of Luke Campbell (Open Male), Pascal Hutchinson (Open Male), Bailee Hastie (Open Female , Mick Jardine (Over 35 Master) and Jack Mickle (Under 18 Junior) rose to the occasion, claiming their maiden Australian Boardriders Battle win.

“This is our first time taking this event out and to do it here at the local beach is pretty cool,” said Campbell. “Thanks to all our surfers and everyone that came down here to support us. We’d love to get over to the National Final and ruffle some feathers.”

Luke Campbell anchored the Trigg Point team who had to come from behind after a red-hot start from Yallingup’s Jack Thomas and Kael Walsh, who both dropped excellent opening scores which saw them finish in second and also qualify for the National Final to be held in 2021.

Defending champions and event favourites, Margaret River Boardriders Club were unable to find the waves they needed when it matted most finishing in third ahead of a vastly improved Surf Beach Boardriders who were stoked to place fourth.

Yallingup’s Kael Walsh was awarded the Oakley Prizm Performer Award for some electric surfing throughout the event.

“It was definitely tough work out there,” said Walsh. “I’m stoked with how well the team surfed today and to be acknowledged amongst all these great surfers is awesome.”


1st – Trigg Point Boardriders Club – 28.08 – $2,000
2nd – Yallingup Boardriders Club – 26.17 – $1,000
3rd – Margaret River Boardriders Club – 26.10
4th – Surf Beach Boardriders  Club – 17.42

5th – Scarborough  Surfriders Club
6th – Trigg Junior Boardriders Club

nudie Australian Boardriders Battle Series Eight Schedule:

ABB – EVENT 1 – Gold Coast, QLD – August 22, 2020

ABB – EVENT 2 – Fleurieu Peninsula, SA – Sept 5, 2020

ABB – EVENT 3 – Trigg, WA – Sept 20, 2020

ABB – EVENT 4 – Clifton Beach TAS – Oct 3, 2020

ABB – EVENT 5 – Phillip Island, VIC – Oct 17, 2020

ABB – EVENT 6 – NSW Sth – Kiama, NSW – Nov 21, 2020

ABB – EVENT 7 – NSW Nth – Coffs Harbour, NSW – Nov 28, 2020

ABB – EVENT 8 – NSW Central – North Narrabeen, NSW – Dec 12, 2020

ABB – National Final – TBC

Now in its eighth season, the nudie Australian Boardriders Battle is the country’s biggest grassroots boardriders event, involving more than 60 of Australia’s best boardrider clubs and $112,700 in prize money.

The series is officially sanctioned by the World Surf League (WSL), which allows Australian WSL World Tour surfers (Men and Women) the opportunity to represent their local boardriders club at respective State qualifying events and the National Final.

Adding to the high stakes at the State qualifying events will be the Oakley Prizm Performer will be awarded to the standout surfer, while the Surfing Australia Innovation Award ($1000) will be presented to the surfer who performs the most innovative manoeuvre at the National Final.

Other Awards at the National Final include:

Surfing Australia Club Spirit Award – $1500

Layne Beachley Medal

Wayne Rabbit Batholomew Medal

For more information head over to


Other News