Congratulations to all the groms aged from Under 12 to Under 18 who entered the 2024 Australian Junior Online Surf Championships, powered by mophie.

This year, the competition window was expanded by one month (three months in total), giving competitors more time to submit waves as well as chase swells across the country.

There were more than 360 submissions, with winners across all individual divisions earning 6500 points that go towards the 2024 Surfing Australia Junior Series. Loads of mophie prizes were also awarded.

Surfing Australia and Olympic Head Judge, Glen Elliott said: “Once again it’s great to see the progression and innovation of junior competitors from every corner of Australia. The Australian Junior Online Surf Championships, powered by mophie, provide equal opportunity to surfers to go big in their own environments without the normal pressures of competition. A huge thank you to all the parents, filmers and coaches who got the shot. None of it would’ve been possible without your help over the past three months.”


U18 Junior Men

1st: Landen Smales – Noosa Heads, QLD – 9.67
2nd: River Robinson – Angourie, NSW – 7.83
3rd: Samuel Lowe – Thirroul, NSW – 7.6

U18 Junior Women
1st: Milla Brown – Newport, NSW – 9.0
2nd: Ava Arghyros – Kingscliff, NSW – 7.77
3rd: Ruby Berry – Margaret River, WA – 7.33

U16 Cadet Boys
1st: Jack Bulloch – Secret Harbour, WA – 9.0
2nd: Lachlan Arghyros – Kingscliff, NSW – 7.9
3rd: Rene Galloway – Newport, NSW – 7.83

U16 Cadet Girls
1st: Samantha Arderne – Tugun, QLD – 8.5
2nd: Eliza Richardson – Sunshine Beach, QLD – 8.17
3rd: Lucy Darragh – Gerringong, NSW – 7.3

U14 Grom Boys
1st: Locana Cullen – Avalon Beach, NSW – 9.33
2nd: Luca Martin – Coolangatta, QLD – 8.07
3rd: Jaggar Phillips – Matraville, NSW – 7.17

U14 Grom Girls
1st: Leihani Zoric – Broken Head, NSW – 8.5
2nd: Talia Tebb – Kincumber, NSW – 7.0
3rd: Navah Holmes – Tugun, QLD – 6.23

U12 Grom Boys
1st: Max Goold QLD – 9.27
2nd: Bali Dobson NSW – 8.83
3rd: Jaya Suhendra NSW – 8.4

U12 Grom Girls
1st: Mila Grainger – Newport, NSW – 7.6
2nd: Sage Fleming – Tweed Heads, NSW – 6.43
3rd: Ily Fraser – Gnarabup , WA – 6.33

Best Wipe-out OPEN – Lex O’Connor – Queenscliff, NSW
Best Barrel (Male) – Brody Mulik – Burnside, WA
Best Barrel (Female) – Leihani Zoric Broken Head, NSW
Best Aerial (Male) – Sol Gruendling – Freshwater, NSW
Best Aerial (Female) – Milla Brown – Newport, NSW

For a complete video gallery of all winning clips, head to the event website.

Download winning entries HERE.

See LiveHeats for all other placings & ranking points for this event.

About the Australian Junior Online Surf Championships:
The online surfing competition was set up during COVID to provide equal opportunities for Australian juniors at their local breaks without state qualification required. Its success has seen the event continue with a boost in National Junior Rankings points last year.

The competition window ran from January 1, 2024, until midnight on March 31, 2024.

Surfing Australia and Head Olympic Judge, Glen Elliott, led a three-person panel, with surfers being judged on their best one wave via online video submission. Competitors were able to swap out their entries right until the close of the competition window.

The Australian Junior Online Surf Championships, powered by mophie, are supported by Surfing Australia, Surfing NSW, Surfing Queensland, Surfing Victoria, Surfing Western Australia, Surfing South Australia and Surfing Tasmania.


Other News