The Yallingup Boardriders Club have dug deep to claim an impressive victory at Western Australia’s longest running and most prestigious tag team surfing event, The Surf Boardroom Surf League presented by Rip Curl.

Since 1992, local surf retailer The Surf Boardroom have supported grassroots club surfing and the 29th edition of this iconic event will be remembered as one of the tightest and most hotly contested battles yet, with Yallingup capturing their first Surf League win since 2015.

A pulsing swell, combined with favourable early morning conditions to create an exciting on-beach atmosphere that oozed of club spirit and pride, as five metropolitan and regional boardriding clubs went head-to-head in hopes of etching their names onto one of WA’s most prized perpetual trophies.

The unique Surf League format saw clubs nominate six surfers (4x Opens, 1x Over-35 Master, and 1x Under-18 Junior), with each surfers top two wave scores added together for a combined team total.

Preliminary heats saw South-West powerhouses Margaret River & Yallingup finish first and second respectively, allowing them to skip round two and moving directly through to the final.

While, defending event champions Trigg Point had to surf off against Surf Beach and City Beach in round two, with Trigg Point and City Beach, joining Margaret River and Yallingup in the blue-ribbon final.

An enthralling and highly entertaining 90 minute final ensued, as two clubs from the South-West took on two clubs from the Metropolitan beaches, in what turned out to be an amazing display of WA boardriding club talent.

All finalists started strongly, with Alex McGuffin handing Margaret River an early lead on the strength of some lightning fast backhand surfing, but as a stiff afternoon sea breeze kicked in it was Trigg Point and Yallingup who would battle for the win. 

Yallingup’s team of Josh Cattlin, Felix Leaver, Jack Thomas, Ash Spencer, Dylan Vernon and Richard Sills, weren’t overwhelmed by the occasion and went all out with a consistent performance from all six of their surfers proving the difference in the end, posting a combined total of 74.70.

Despite the best efforts of Trigg Point’s Nick Muntz, who just about stole the show with a massive air reverse in the dying moments of the final, it was Yallingup that clung tightly to a narrow lead, taking the Surf League trophy back to the South-West.

Trigg Point finished in a close second place on 73.90, Margaret River had to settle for third on 64.70, ahead of City Beach Surfriders in fourth on 53.25.

“The atmosphere down here was pretty incredible today, there were so many people coming down and supporting everyone, all the other clubs were ripping,” said Yallingup’s Jack Thomas. “I’m just so stoked that Yalls could hold on and come out on top.”

Surf League forms an integral part of the Western Australian surfing scene, with 2021 marking the 29th consecutive year that local surf retailer The Surf Boardroom have been supporting this iconic and much loved event.

“We’ve been involved in Surf League since 1992 and to be a part of an event that encourages grassroots WA boardriding clubs is something pretty special,” said The Surf Boardroom’s Geoff Counsel. “This event is a very important part of our business and I’d like to congratulate Yallingup on a great win, all of the clubs who competed today, as well as the brands who back our vision for Surf League moving forward.”

The Surf Boardroom Surf League embodies what Australian sport is all about; mateship, team spirit, loyalty and unbelievable camaraderie, providing a unique opportunity for mate to verse mate and club to verse club, in a fun, but highly competitive environment.

For more information on the Surf Boardroom Surf League be sure to check out www.surfingwa.com.au

For more information on the Ground Swell Surf and Skate Festival head to: www.groundswellfestival.org

1st Place ($1,250) Yallingup Boardriders – 74.70
2nd Place ($750) Trigg Point Boardriders – 73.90
3rd Place ($400) Trigg Point Boardriders – 64.70
4th Place ($250) City Beach Surfriders – 53.25

5th Place – Surf Beach Boardriders

Perry Hatchett Medalist (Best Surfer In Final) > Nick Muntz (Trigg Point)
Frank Hayter Freakish Talent Award (Best Junior Surfer) > Dylan Vernon (Yallingup)
Creatures of Leisure Cream of the Crop (Best Manoeuvre) > Nick Muntz (Trigg Point)
SunSmart Shoot Out Winner (Best Air In Expression Session) > Jack Thomas (Yallingup)
Rip Curl Falling Star (Best Masters Surfer) > Richard Sills (Yallingup)
Reef Ripper Award (Standout Surfer) > Alex McGuffin (Margaret River)
Rip Curl Coaching Performance (Best Coach) > Damon Hayes (Trigg Point)
Creatures of Leisure Encouragement Award (Best Camaraderie ) > Matt & Pat Connell (City Beach)
Otis Eyewear Cover Your Eyes (Best Wipeout) > Andrew Sheridan (Margaret River)
Reef Baywatch Award (Best Run / Tag) > Jack Mitchell (Margaret River)
Otis Eyewear Powerhouse Surfer (Best Power Move) > Jake Edwards (Trigg Point)
Creatures of Leisure Team Spirit (Most Encouraging Club) > Trigg Point Boardriders Club

About The Surf Boardroom:
The Surf Boardroom first opened in 1988 and from those early days the Boardroom has been all about providing surfers with the latest and best equipment. The boys at the Boardroom are very proud to put back into surfing locally, and they will be continuing this tradition into the future. Local clubs are a huge part of their business and love being a part of this really unique event. Checkout their website www.surfboardroom.com.au for all the latest surfboards, accessories and fashion needs.


Other News