Former Surfing Australia CEO, and chief executive of Surfing WA, Mark Lane will receive Surfing Australia Life Membership at the 2022 Australian Surfing Awards.

Perth-born, Mr Lane has had a significant impact on surfing in Australia for more than three decades, though the encouragement, promotion, and administration of the sport.

He has been actively involved in introducing first time participants to the sport all the way through to coaching, managing, and assisting athletes in National Teams and World Championship Tour events. He’s raised tens of millions of dollars to support the development of a WCT Men’s and Women’s surfing event in WA and was a driving force behind the decision and negotiation for the WSL to hold two WCT events in WA in 2021, a Covid-ravaged year. Among his many other achievements, Mr Lane established WA’s first and Australia’s third Surfing Museum – The WA Surf Gallery and helped obtain a new home for Surfing WA.

Mr Lane was the chief executive of Surfing WA from 2000 to 2006 before becoming chief executive of Surfing Australia from 2006 to 2009. He subsequently returned to his role as chief executive of Surfing WA from 2010 a role he continues in today.

An avid surfer himself, Mr Lane’s reputation amongst his peers is one of utmost respect. In their words, Surfing in Australia would not be where it is today without his endless effort. He is also highly regarded for his dedication to charity work.

Mr Lane said: “I am deeply honoured to receive this award and very appreciative of the recognition.

“It’s been an incredible privilege to work in the surfing industry over the past 35 years. When I first started, full-time jobs in surfing were extremely rare, so not only am I grateful to have an enduring career in an industry that I love, but also to feel like I’ve made a difference along the way.”

Surfing Australia Chair, Layne Beachley said: “Mark Lane’s impact has been felt across every level of the sport during his 30+ years of dedicated and distinguished service. Passionately driven to increase participation, provide quality coaching and manage World Championship events, Mark’s legacy runs deep and wide through his encouragement, promotion and administration of Surfing in Australia. As the recipient of a Lifetime Achievement Award it’s only befitting we elevate, recognise and honour his incredible career with Lifetime Membership. I wholeheartedly congratulate him and I look forward to celebrating his achievements at the Australian Surfing Awards next month.”

Life Membership of Surfing Australia is recognition of a person who has rendered distinguished or special service to the sport of surfing at the national level. It is awarded from time to time when the Surfing Australia Board and the Annual General Meeting of members believe it is warranted.

The 2022 Australian Surfing Awards will be held at QT Gold Coast on Thursday, 16th February.

Hosted by surf media icons, Vaughan Blakey and Jess Grimwood, the awards honour the best surfers over the past 12 months across 17 categories, adding to the excitement of our biggest gong, the Australian Surfing Hall of Fame, which this year goes to Taj Burrow.

Direct invites will go out this week and tickets will go on sale to the public on 30th January. 

Purchase tickets HERE on 30th January.

The Australian Surfing Awards are supported by Major Events Gold Coast and the Queensland Government through Tourism and Events Queensland and features on the It’s Live! in Queensland events calendar.

The Awards are also supported by Harvey Norman, Griffith University, Reeftip Drinks Co., Zambrero, ACCIONA, QT Gold Coast, Steel City and Andrew Peace Wines.


Other News